Book Review: “Boost.ASIO C++ Network Programming” by John Torjo

Boost.ASIO C++ Network Programming

I make a living doing network programming, so I was very interested to review a new book, Boost.ASIO C++ Network Programming by John Torjo, published by Packt Publishing. On a scale of 1-10 I give it a solid 6. The good news is that I haven’t seen anything written about Boost.ASIO that’s better, so if you are interested in learning more about Boost.ASIO, I recommend you buy this book. I’ll explain further.

My first impression when starting to read this book is that it’s poorly edited. It feels like it was written in a rush and produced in an even bigger rush. There are spelling errors, grammar errors, and it just feels second rate. As I made my way through the book it didn’t get any better. Don’t let this dissuade you from learning from the real content, though.

Technically speaking Torjo attempts to do a few big things:

  • Explain use of Boost.ASIO
  • Explain network programming
  • Explain synchronous vs. asynchronous programming paradigms

If you are not already fluent in the general network programming concepts, I recommend you purchase other books (Stevens, Schmidt, Schmidt [disclaimer: I co-authored this]) as a prerequisite to Boost.ASIO. Torjo succeeds fairly well at the first point, though, which is the primary purpose of the book. You should also have a passing familiarity with other Boost classes. While Boost.ASIO is not template-heavy like some other Boost areas, shared pointers and function binding are used well in the examples.

Boost.ASIO explains the use of the io_service, resolver, endpoint, and socket classes fairly well. Torjo hand-waves a bit about the relationship of io_service and socket, but once you’ve become accustomed to programming with Boost.ASIO, that becomes second nature. The book includes many well-explained examples, which I really appreciate. If you follow the examples you will end up with working code.

The book at one point claims to be useful as a reference to return to over and over for details. While Boost.ASIO is certainly not a Boost.ASIO reference manual (you should bookmark the Boost docs for that) it is a very useful book for explaining how to make good use of this very flexible and useful class library for network programming.

2 Responses to “Book Review: “Boost.ASIO C++ Network Programming” by John Torjo”

  1. glockenmeier Says:

    I appreciate your review Steve. While im not completely new to networking. I’m quite new to C++ Networking and Boost.ASIO. Looking at some 200 templated function overloads in VS2010 intellisense makes my eyeballs pop like a popcorn. And the docs doesn’t help me with that either. (Is this a common problem in C++?). I just hope this book will help me further.

    • stevehuston Says:

      Staring at 200 templated function overloads is not a common problem in C++ per-se, but it is when working with Boost. It’s heavily based on templates, so you’ll get real used to them real quick. I hope the book is helpful – thanks for your comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

