There’s No Substitute for Experience with Threads

When your system performance is not all you had hoped it would be, are you tempted to think that adding more threads will speed things up? When your customers complain that they upgraded to the latest multicore processor but your application doesn’t run any faster, what answers do you have for them?

Even if race conditions, synchronization bottlenecks, and atomicity are part of your normal vocabulary, the world of multithreaded programming is one where one must really understand what’s below the surface of the API to get the full picture of why some piece of code is, or is not, working. I was reminded of this, and the deep truths of how deep your understanding must be, while catching up on some reading this week.

I was introduced to threads (DECthreads, the precursor to Pthreads, for you history buffs) in the early 1990s. Neat! I can do multiple things at the same time! Fortunately, I spent a fair amount of time in my programming formative years working on an operating system for the Control Data 3600 (anyone remember the TV show “The Bionic Man”? The large console in the bionics lab was a CDC-3600). I learned the hard way that the world can change in odd ways between instructions. So I wasn’t completely fooled by the notion of magically being able to do multiple things at the same time, but threading libraries make the whole area of threads much more approachable. But with power comes responsibility – the responsibility to know what you’re doing with that power tool.

I’ve been working on multithreaded code for many years now and find multithreading a powerful tool for building high-performance networked applications. So I was eager to read the Dr. Dobbs article “Lock-Free Code: A False Sense of Security” by Herb Sutter (his blog entry related to the article is here). His “Effective Concurrency” column is a regular favorite of mine. The article is a diagnosis of an earlier article describing a lock-free queue implementation. I previously read the article being diagnosed and, although I only skimmed it since I had no immediate need for a single-writer, single-reader queue at the time, I didn’t catch anything really wrong with it. So I was anxious to see what I missed.

Boy, I missed a few things. Now that I see them explained, it’s like “ah, of course” but I probably wouldn’t have thought about those issues before I was trying to figure out what’s wrong at runtime. Some may say the issues are sort of esoteric and machine-specific and I may agree, but it doesn’t matter – it’s a case of understanding your environment and tools and another situation where experience makes all the difference between banging your head on the wall and getting the job done.

I’m thankful that I can get more understanding by reading the works of smart people who’ve trodden before me. I’m sure that knowledge will save me some time at some point when debugging some odd race condition. And that’s what it’s all about – learn, experience, save time. Thanks Herb.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

